COVID-19 Hub

Recognizing COVID-19 brings unprecedented implications for our clients and their businesses, Wyrick Robbins attorneys and staff remain fully functional and ready to provide clear direction and practical legal solutions for navigating the challenges of today and those that lie ahead.

Read a note from Managing Partner, Jimmy Yates, regarding Wake County’s “Stay at Home” order.

Sign Up for Alerts

Visit our COVID-19 Resources page for more detailed alerts and FAQs.

Labor & Employment

Kyle Stillkstill@wyrick.com  |  919.865.2828

Government Lending Programs for Small Businesses

Todd Evesonteveson@wyrick.com | 919.882.7153

Corporate/Capital Markets

Don Reynoldsdreynolds@wyrick.com | 919.865.2805
Halle Vakanihvakani@wyrick.com | 919.865.1125

Banking & Financial Institutions

Todd Evesonteveson@wyrick.com | 919.882.7153

Privacy & Data Security

Elizabeth Johnsonejohnson@wyrick.com | 919.228.2902

Our team can assist with COVID-19 related privacy and information security concerns, including:

  • Data Breach Response
  • Tracking Employees and Patients
  • Data Security Standards
  • Security Risk Analysis
  • Consumer Outreach and Telehealth
  • Privacy Disclosures in Release and Consent Forms

Healthcare

Frank Kirschbaumfkirschbaum@wyrick.com | 919.865.1102

  • Certificate of Need
    • Review schedules will not be altered and the deadlines for submitting applications will not be extended.
    • Applicants can mail applications to The Healthcare Planning and Certificate of Need Section, but they must be received (not postmarked) by the filing deadline.
    • Public Hearings can now be requested in writing, with written hearing comments filed in lieu of an in-person public hearing.
  • Changes in employment laws specifically applicable to healthcare providers
    • Under the Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act and the Emergency Family and Medical Leave Expansion Act, employers may elect to exclude certain types of healthcare providers who are employees.
    • Use of infrared thermometers and taking employee temperatures during COVID-19 is permitted.

Commercial Litigation

Mike DeFrankmdefrank@wyrick.com | 919.865.2822

Tax


Thomas H. Cook, Jr.
tcook@wyrick.com | 919.865.2819

Our tax practice group can assist with inquiries on COVID-19 related tax relief and compliance obligations, including:

Mergers & Acquisitions

Amy Risseeuwarisseeuw@wyrick.com | 919.865.2835

Family Law

Heidi Bloomhbloom@wyrick.com | 919.865.2815

  • Navigating custody exchanges during the coronavirus pandemic
  • FAQs Regarding 2020 Stimulus Checks and Your Divorce
  • Interpretation of court orders or separation agreements, and how it relates to your obligations during this time
  • Economic impact on the value of the marital estate in equitable distribution
  • Economic impact on value and distribution of retirement accounts
  • Enforceability of home or business sale provisions during the COVID-19 pandemic
  • Modification of spousal support and child support due to job loss or furlough
  • Negotiating temporary modifications to agreements and court orders with your ex-spouse or co-parent
  • Guidance through the separation process
  • Emergency Custody
  • Domestic Violence Protection Orders

Trusts & Estates

Dave Burns, dburns@wyrick.com | 919.865.2836

During this crisis, our Trusts & Estates practice is available to prepare necessary estate planning documents, including health care powers of attorney, living wills, HIPAA authorizations, powers of attorney and wills, and advice regarding the authority and responsibility of fiduciaries appointed under those documents.